Equine Dentist visit

I had to get Kiko hauled over to our old barn today for a dental appointment with Gregg McKee, the equine dentist. I got a ride from a really nice lady I thought I had never met before from a close barn. She got there and I realized I just saw her at Jack Lieser’s most recent Western Dressage event. She was like “Oh! your Jenny, I didn’t know it was you, the colt start girl who says colt starting changed your life!”

Hahaha, that made me giggle. I was suprised she remembered what I said about it on the lunch break on the second day of the Western dressage event but they asked Jack about colt start and asked how much knoweldge you needed to do it. Jack asked me to tell everyone my experiance since I’ve only been back into horses for a few years now.  I told them, yes, under Jack’s easy instruction and careful eye; I felt completly safe and it’s changed my life, what you learn about yourself and what it does to your horsemanship is immeasurable. I was happy that she remembered.

Anyway, back to today…she got there early just in case Kiko wouldn’t load right away. However, Kiko is a pro at loading, he got in, backed out then went right back in and started eating hay. It took all but a minute in a half I think.

At Lakeview, they dosed my horse up, I am always amazed at how fast it starts to work, he was wobbly in a few seconds. Gregg opened his mouth, checked him out for a few minutes and had me stick my hands in his mouth both top and bottom to feel his teeth. They were suprisingly sharp and felt uneaven. Gregg was personable and funny and even when working can hold an engaging conversation. I liked him immediatly.

He not only told me but showed me exactly where Kiko had problem spots, explained what he was going to do and how he would balance him and answered every one of my questions honestly like when I asked him “So are his teeth wearing eavenly?” Gregg said with a smile and a laugh “No! not at all, that’s what I’m fixing.” Okay so now I trusted him, he’s going to tell me like it is, people like that don’t usually have time for B.S.

Kiko kind of woke up halfway thru the visit so Gregg called for the vet to administer another 1/2 dose of seditive. I asked what he was doing and he said “Chewing on my arm” and right then Kiko decided he was going to walk out the stall even with the speculum and Greggs arm in his mouth LOL. He finished the work and had me feel again, WHAT A DIFFERENCE! It was so smooth and even. I could feel how this was going to be much more comfortable for him.

I put Kiko in an adjacent stall to recover and I spent a good hour grooming him, I brushed him really well, cowboy magic’d his mane and tail until the brush ran smooth thru his curly hair and put on some equispot since I’m so freaked out about ticks this year. Kristi Kelly-Raverty was there and agreed to check out Kiko’s gelding scar, just like Cynthia the barefoot trimmer my friend Kelly mentors under said, he had some mobility limitations due to some Fascia she took care of for him. She’s amazing also, she knew right where the problem was and losened him all up in less than 10 minutes and really the only reason it took that long is because he was moving around. After Kristi was done he didn’t move while I was grooming, just had his head pressed up against the stall breathing funny thru his squished nose. Then he suddenly woke up and was investigating the stall sluggishly. Someone commented “There must be some mustang in that horse. He doesn’t stay sedated for long!” We walked around for a bit then put him in the trailer which he loaded again perfectly.

Judy said he was shaking in the trailer so we maybe should have waited longer but he was fine when we pulled him out. A little sweaty and stressed, but seemed to recover just fine because I put him in the pasture and he said a very quick goodbye to me and cantered off to find his girls while screaming for them, even jumping over a mound of dirt so I think he was fine 🙂

I hope he likes his new teeth and can’t wait to go back on Sunday and help him stretch out his new muscles.

This entry was posted in Equine, Horse and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

