The goal of horsemanship

Okay, so I know I haven’t been that good about blogging. I should be better at it but spending all day at my job looking at a computer all day, someday s it’s just hart to manage my farmville2 farm on Facebook. hahaha.

So this is the second one in one day! hooray for me.

I just finished reading the book “The soul of a horse” sent to me by a friend although I have never met them…okay so a kindred spirit, horse & Nokota lover.

The book is awesome, It’s about one guy, Joe Camp who is the writer and his experience into natural horsemanship. He’s not a trainer, a breeder, a ferrier or a vet. He’s a movie producer writing about his experience into horses and how he questioned everything….he listened to both sides of the fence and to both he questioned WHY? Just this regular guy, getting into horses, after his childhood years, but all the time thinking of the horses perspective and all the while doing what I love, watching the horses interact and seeing how much sense it made. He comes to the conclusion that the wild horse “model” is best for his horses and felt strongly enough to write a book about it. I’ve never seen his movies, at least not that I’ve known of, he produced the Benji movies, but I feel his writing and it moved me.

Even being a newbie 5 years ago, I questioned everything from the horses perspective even when I didn’t say it outloud.

I started with doing lessons, which as a kid I thought were awesome, but I had a little extra, I had a cousin and an aunt which had what I now call “real” horses I was able to spend a week to two weeks with every summer and see how it was done.

15+ years later I had a wild hair up my ass and thought, I want to get back into horses, so I did…I started lessons again and within two lessons realized this was not what I wanted. I wanted to know what it felt like to be with a horse, to know them to understand them and to have a relationship and a 60 minute training session where you jump on, do your thing and jump off, wasn’t what I was looking for.

Fate brought me to where I am today. A chance dinner that’s been once in 5 years now where I just happened to bring up my dissapointments of my experience in front of some people I didn’t know lead me into my world of horsemanship, just by chance a friend of my friend had a friend that needed someone to work with their horse…and even after a night of fun and drinking passed my number along so we could connect. 2 1/2 years later I owned my own horse when my estimate was 10 years to ownership.

I was horrible, my horse did not trust me but again fate stepped in and put me in the right group of people. I honestly think I know the best horseman in MN.

Catapulting forward with the best trainer, the best barefoot trimmer and because of them finding the best mentor for all of us, my horsemanship skills soared. I would not, COULD not be where I am today in my few short years without them. I most defiantly would not be training wild colts or have the relationship with my horse that I do today.

I realized recently all of my horsemanship goals are short term. Everything has been to this point, get a better seat, find better balance, teach a new trick, learn more….everything is short term so I started thinking about the long term.

What I came up with was NEVER stop learning!

That is my long term goal. As horseman, we in general can get the feeling that we finally know enough or where we are at we are smart enough but what I’m finding out, for the horses sake it’s never good enough if we aren’t continually learning like them. We need to be as open hearted as our horses are!

The thought I had most recently is ;If we continually ask them (our horses) to learn new things, why the hell shouldn’t we be doing the same?

We have come so far from the way it used to be done, before rawhide saddles and snap ropes and halters were invented, we don’t know it all, even those of us that try to keep it “natural” for the horses, we don’t know…we can’t possibly know everything.

So the goal to horsemanship in my simple mind is to keep learning. What we expect from them we should also expect from ourselves. Can it be a true partnership when it’s EVER less than 50/50? I don’ t think so.

So at this point in my life I think the true goal of horsemanship is to keep learning and keep questioning. We ask that of our horses so why does it sometimes become a problem if we ask the same from ourselves?

JennKiko 006

This entry was posted in Equine, Horse, horsemanship, natural horsemanship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

